ACS Great Lakes Regional meeting 2021
Jun 06, 7:00 AM – Jun 09, 10:00 PM
Hosted on the ACS Zoom platform
 
 

KEYNOTE SPEAKERS ARE TO BE ANNOUNCED. THE DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION WORKGROUP IS WORKING TO SECURE A NUMBER OF KEYNOTE SPEAKERS RELATED TO ELEVATING THE IMPORTANCE OF DIVERSITY AND INCLUSION IN CHEMISTRY. 

CAREER FAIR

A virtual career fair will be held at the meeting. Companies and organizations that will be represented at the fair will be posted here in Spring 2021.

 

SYMPOSIA

General Program Co-Chair: James Wollack (jwwollack@stkate.edu) 

General Program Co-Chair: Ramesh Kumar (rckumar0051@gmail.com)

Agricultural and Food Chemistry

Chair: Ariel Childress (AMChildress@hormel.com)

Agribusiness

Chair: Danny Brown (DMBrown@landolakes.com)

Biotechnology

Co-Chair: Mike Freeman (mffreema@umn.edu)

Co-Chair: Claudia Schmidt-Dannert (schmi232@umn.edu)

​Biologically Related Molecules and Processes

Co-Chair: Willam Pomerantz (wcp@umn.edu)

Co-Chair: Scott Burr (sbur@gustavus.edu)

Chemical Biology

Chair: Shelby Auger (auger054@umn.edu)

Chemical Business: Resources and Best Practices

Co-Chair: Adam Sussman (asussman0206@mac.com)

Co-Chair: Joe Sabol (jsabol@chem-consult.com)

Chemical Education Research

Chair: Alexey Leontyev (alexey.leontyev@ndsu.edu)

Chemical Research in Toxicology

Chair: TBD-Contact General Chair

Chemical Safety

Chair: Taysir Bader (bader072@umn.edu) 

Crystallography in the Undergraduate Curriculum

Chair: Daron Janzen (dejanzen@stkate.edu)

Distance Learning in Chemical Education

Chair: Annalisa Jordan (amjordan@stkate.edu)


Elevating the Importance of Diversity and Inclusion in Chemistry 

Chair: Mike Wentzel (wentzelm@augsburg.edu)

Green Chemistry

Chair: Doug Raynie (Douglas.Raynie@sdstate.edu)

General Topics in Analytical Chemistry

Co-Chair: Blair Troudt (troud004@umn.edu)

Co-Chair: Celeste Rousseau (rouss070@umn.edu)

General Topics in Physical Chemistry and Spectroscopy

Chair: Nicholas Scholtter (nschlotter@hamline.edu)

General Topics in Inorganic Chemistry

Chair: TBD - Contact General Chair

Materials

Co-Chair: Adam Miller (admiller@mmm.com)

Co-Chair: Dennis Cao (dcao@macalester.edu)

Medical Devices:

Chair: Chad Satori (chadpsatori@gmail.com)

Medicinal Chemistry

Chair: Sarah Dimick Gray (sarah.dimickgray@metrostate.edu)

Metal Organic Frameworks

Chair: Craig MacKinnon (cmackinn@lakeheadu.ca)

Natural Product Synthesis:

Chair: TBD-Contact General Chair

Nanomaterials

Chair: Sonja Mackey (smackey@mmm.com)

New Organic Reaction Development

Chair: TBD-Contact General Chair

Organometallic Chemistry 

Co-Chair: Ian Tonks (itonks@umn.edu)

Co-Chair: Dan Huh (huhxx055@umn.edu)

Organic Chemistry at PUIs

Chair: Katie McGarry (Katie.McGarry@uwsp.edu)

Obtainable Sustainability in Industrial Applications

Chair: Mark Ellis (mfellis@mmm.com)

Reflections of Senior Chemists:

Chair: Lynn Hartshorn (LGHARTSHORN@stthomas.edu)

Sustainable Polymers

Chair: Jane Wissinger (jwiss@umn.edu)

Undergraduate Research in the Inorganic Curriculum

Chair: Daron Janzen (dejanzen@stkate.edu )

 

WORKSHOPS

ACS CHAS Workshop: Empowering Academic Researchers to Strengthen Safety Culture 

This 4-hour workshop is primarily directed at researchers in academic institutions that may include graduate students, postdoctoral scholars, and undergraduate students. Faculty and safety staff are also very much encouraged to participate.

Workshop goals are to:

-Educate participants about the value of risk assessment

-Guide participants towards gaining awareness of safety culture messages from the leadership at their institutions

-Empower participants to expand their safety networks and develop laboratory safety teams.

The workshop is scheduled for Saturday, June 5, 1 PM to 5 PM Central Time. Grants will be available to cover a portion of registration. When conference registration opens, registration for this workshop will be an option.  If you have any questions about workshop content please email lstworkshop@dchas.org

or check out  http://dchas.org/2020/12/31/lst-workshop/   for an overview of what past workshops with this theme have entailed. 

 

EXPOSITION

Before conversion to an on-line meeting an expo was planned to be held. In lieu of a virtual expo vendors are offered 5 minute advertisements in symposia. They come with a meeting registration. Contact James Wollack (jwwollack@stkate.edu) for more information.

 

SCHEDULE

A detailed Schedule will be available in mid to late April. 

 

REGISTRATION

Conference registration is scheduled to begin March 1st.


Come back to this place on the site and a link will be available for registration.  

 

Abstract submissions are open January 18th until March 1st. 


Click on the button labeled Link to ACS abstract submission. It will bring you to the external abstract submission website.

 

AWARDS

• Stanley C. Israel Regional Award for Advancing Diversity in the Chemical Sciences
The Stanley C. Israel Regional Award recognizes individuals and/or institutions who have advanced diversity in the chemical sciences and significantly stimulated or fostered activities that promote inclusiveness within the region.

• E. Ann Nalley Regional Award for Volunteer Service to the American Chemical Society
Purpose: To recognize the volunteer efforts of individuals who have served the American Chemical Society, contributing significantly to the goals and objectives of the Society through their regional activities.

• Partners for Progress and Prosperity Award
Purpose:  To encourage and recognize successful and exemplary partnerships, a Partners for Progress and Prosperity (P3) Award was established as an award to be given by Local ACS Sections, ACS International Chapters, and ACS Regional Meetings.
These partnerships can be between industry, academia, government, small business and/or other organizations, including ACS local sections, ACS divisions, ACS international chapters, other societies or various entities domestic or overseas resulting in impactful outcomes in one or more of the following categories:

•The ACS Division of Chemical Education Great Lakes Region Award for Excellence in High School Teaching

Purpose: To recognize, encourage, and stimulate outstanding teachers of high school chemistry in the Great Lakes Region

 

GET IN TOUCH

For inquiries about the regional meeting please contact  the regional meeting planning committee.
James Wollack: jwwollack@stkate.edu
Ramesh Kumar: rckumar0051@gmail.com 
Mike Wentzel: wentzelm@augsburg.edu

  • LinkedIn
Networking Event
 
  • LinkedIn

©2020 by ACS Great Lakes Regional meeting 2021. Proudly created with Wix.com